Award for Sustained Service to Public Schools

2021 Award Recipient

Dr. Kristen Beach
Department of Special Education &
Child Development

Make Nomination

The College of Education Award for Sustained Service to Public Schools is given to one outstanding full time faculty member in the College of Education. The recipient will have displayed a sustained positive impact on student achievement, a deep commitment on behalf of children and their educators, and displayed innovation and creativity to support students.

The recipient will receive a plaque and $1500 in faculty professional development funds.


Full time faculty appointment at UNC Charlotte (may be from any department in the University)
Deans, department chairs, and current members of the Office of Educational Outreach Awards Committee are not eligible.

Nominees must have been on the faculty at UNC Charlotte for at least 4 years and must be at the University during the year in which they are nominated.

Individuals may not win this award more than once.

College of Education faculty and administrators, School administrators within the P-12 schools in the UNC Charlotte service region may make nominations.

Required Materials:

1. Nominee must submit a brief narrative describing their service agenda and major accomplishments in service to schools.

2. Abbreviated vita (5-page limit)

3. "Service to Schools" section of the faculty member's annual report from the preceding year must be submitted.

The nomination deadline is March 15, 2021.

For questions regarding submission of nomination materials, please contact Dr. Victor Mack at

Past Award Recipients:

2020 - Bettie Ray Butler
2019 - Joan LaChance
2018 - Heather Coffey
2017 - Lan Kolano
2016 - Jim Watson
2015 - Tina Heafner
2014 - Paul Fitchett
2013 - Marvin Chapman
2012 - Mickey Dunaway
2011 - Drew Polly
2010 - Bruce Taylor
2009 - Valorie Balog
2008 - Michael Green
2007 - No Recipient
2006 - No Recipient
2005 - Joyce Frazier
2004 - Oscar Lansen
2003 - Jeffrey Passe
2002 - Pamela Sofras
2001 - Bobbie Rowland
2000 - Robert Audette