Award for Diversity

2021 Recipient

Dr. Jae Hoon Lim
Department of Educational Leadership

Make Nomination

The Cato College of Education Award for Diversity is awarded to one outstanding, full time faculty member who exemplifies the goals outlined in the Cato College of Education's Diversity Commitment statement*. The recipient will display a deep commitment to diversity, demonstrate creativity/ innovation in a variety of domains, and sustain a positive impact on the university and community constituencies.   

The recipient will receive a plaque and $1500 in faculty professional development funds.


Nominee must have a full-time faculty appointment.

Nominees must have four (4) years experience as a UNC Charlotte faculty member.

Individuals may not win this award more than once.

Cato College of Education faculty, administrators, staff, students, alumni, and community stakeholders may make nominations.


Personal statement from nominee on diversity engagement that supports nomination materials (limit 750 words).  Personal statement should address the ways in which these activities demonstrate creativity/innovation, reflect commitment to diversity, and have an overall impact on local  communities.  

Current resume/vita must be submitted.

A maximum of three (3) additional letters of support affirming positive impact of engagement can be submitted.

Nominations must be submitted by March 15, 2021. Thank you!

*The Cato College of Education at UNC Charlotte is committed to social justice and respect for all individuals, and it seeks to create a culture of inclusion that actively supports all who live, work, and serve in a diverse nation and world.  Attaining justice and respect involves all members of our community in recognizing that multi-dimensional diversity contributes to the College’s learning environments, thereby enriching the community and improving opportunities for human understanding.  While the term “diversity” is often used to refer to differences, the College’s intention is for inclusiveness, an inclusiveness of individuals who are diverse in ability/disability, age, economic status, ethnicity, gender, language, national origin, race, religion, and sexual orientation.  Therefore, the College aspires to become a more diverse community in order to extend its enriching benefits to all participants.  An essential feature of our community is an environment that supports exploration, learning, and work free from bias and harassment, thereby improving the growth and development of each member of the community.

For questions regarding submission of nomination materials, please contact Dr. Victor Mack at

Previous Recipients:

2020 - Tehia Glass
2019 - Lisa Merriweather
2018 - Gloria Campbell-Whatley
2017 - Spencer Salas
2016 - Lan Kolano
2015 - Greg Wiggan
2014 - Adriana Medina
2013 - Stephen Hancock